About the Scholarship:

The WIFT-T Banff World Media Festival Scholarship is a competitive opportunity that provides one female WIFT-T member with mid- to senior-management experience with a full delegate pass to attend the Banff World Media Festival. The scholarship covers the conference registration fee only, and does not include travel or accommodation.

Attracting over 150 Development Executives and a wide-ranging cross-section of television and digital media professionals from around the world, BANFF is the ideal place to make new contacts, find production partners and green-light new projects. Featuring in-depth spotlights on key international territories, pre-booked Face-to Face Meetings with industry decision makers, and unparalleled opportunities for networking with potential partners from across the globe, the BANFF Marketplace is designed to help you create new development and production opportunities.


  • Complimentary Banff World Media Festival registration 
  • Opportunities for networking with potential partners from across the globe
  • Hear keynotes from industry leaders, contentious panel discussions, expert forecasts, celebrity Master Classes, critical case studies, key strategy sessions and more

Who Can Apply:

Candidates must meet the following criteria to be eligible for consideration:

  • Canadian Citizen, Permanent Resident, or Landed Immigrant
  • WIFT-T Full member in good standing (not Associates or Friend category). May join at time of application.
  • Minimum 6 years’ professional experience in the television or media industry. The ideal candidate will have 6 – 12 years experience
  • WIFT-T Staff and Board are not eligible to apply
  • Must complete a final report within two weeks of mentorship completion including a testimonial

If selected, and for any reason you are not able to attend, you must notify WIFT-T immediately, and forfeit your claim to the scholarship. The scholarship may be offered to a runner-up in the event that the selected applicant is unable to attend the conference.

For more information contact:
Laurie Januska
Head of Programming
416.322.3430 ext. 222

Past Recipients

2016 – Jordana Aarons
2015 – Adria Budd Johnson
2014 – S. Siobhan McCarthy
2013 – Paula Devonshire